Never Unwanted

Dearest Little Ones-
If there is one thing I want you to know, it’s that no matter where you are, no matter what is happening, you’re NOT unwanted. You’ll probably question this over the years. I know I did when I was growing up. Growing up isn’t easy. Growing up as an adopted kid can be tough sometimes, but there is one thing that you’ll understand someday – you were NEVER unwanted. You may not even be born yet, and you’re wanted.
I wonder what life will be like when you get here. Sometimes I day dream about what it will be like to tuck you in at night, to laugh w/ you, to comfort you when you’re sad and to guide you along your life to see what adventures await you. Sometimes it is just those daydreams and knowing what you’re out there that makes this whole process bareable. Today I argued w/ the agency about some puny little interoffice process, but knowing that you’re at the end of this tunnel helps me keep perspective. Your dad is good at reminding me of that.
I know you and I will probably “get” each other in a different way than you’ll get your dad, but I know that you two will develop your own special language too. He can show you a lot about sports and hunting – and I know he’s looking forward to meeting you too.
We’re family, but just don’t know it yet.
– Your mom.

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

