Getting Thanksgiving all Wrong, and Loving it.

Dearest Little Ones,

When I think of my mother stressing out about getting Thanksgiving just perfect and inviting over all the family, I think she’s crazy. Well, when you see how wrong your dad and I get Thanksgiving, you’ll probably think we are too.

Your dad and I had been long distance friends for YEARS, but finally met face to face on Thanksgiving Day, so that’s the anniversary of our first date. On that day, I flew from California to Florida to meet him at his Base in Georgia. It was a long day of traveling, but I finally made it. Your dad had called a local eatery to see if they’d be open for a late dinner, and they promised they would be. When we finally pulled up to it, they were just closing their kitchen early and letting their staff go! By this time, I was STARVING, so I suggested we just pull into a gas station and grab something frozen. Well, that was a bust too, so we ended up just grabbing some Ramen Noodles and eating them in my hotel room as we watched Aladdin (your dad’s favorite Disney movie).  Honestly, it was a great first date and really step home all the things I’m thankful for. Your dad is one of them.

Last year, he celebrated Thanksgiving on a Submarine while out keeping us safe. (I tease him that he’s out Finding Nemo – which must be awfully hard to do since they don’t have port holes. I guess that explains why they go out so much!)

This year, it was a small calamity as well. The great part is that I got to spend Thanksgiving with your dad! He came home around 10am from his duty shift (that started at 6am the day before). I made a breakfast/brunch of omlettes filled with good-for-you stuff (chopped red, yellow, and orange bell peppers, onions, parsley, and a sprinkling of blue cheese, topped with some sauteeded Korabi greens), and some just plain good stuff (cinnamon rolls).

For dinner, we decided to forgo the traditional turkey dinner since we were both very tired, and do my famous lamb roast instead! But instead of lamb, it turned out we were accidently sold goat meat! So the roast turned out pretty dry. But Dessert (almond criossants and tea) turned out great!

We may have one more Thanksgiving before you come home to join us. So we have another year to practice before you come home from school one day and tell us that we are doing Thanksgiving all wrong. That it’s about Pilgrims and Indians and Turkey.

You see, some part of me knows that we do get Thanksgiving right, no matter what we eat. I hope you come away with that above all.
Oh –  I’m sure you’ll think we’re crazy. There is no getting around that (and I look forward to the future eye rolling).

Your dad is actually a great cook.
I hope you’re looking forward to helping him w/ the turkey as much as we’re looking forward to sharing our Thanksgiving with you.

As your dad’s next deployment approaches, we have a unique insight into gratitude this year. Moments together, whether they are filled with Ramen or Turkey, are precious. I can’t wait to add you to the list of things I’m grateful for.

After all, we’re family – You just don’t know it yet.

Much love,

Your mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

