A New Team Player and a Little Faith

Dearest little ones,
I’m even more excited to meet you today then I was yesterday. Today I talked to a new social worker who will be helping us bring you home. She is really great and took a huge burden off my shoulders. It’s a better fit for us than the lady we were previously working with. I already get the impression that she’s a great partner in our team to bring you safely home to us.
I sent a message to your dad to tell him all about it. He can’t reply right away, but I’m sure he’s excited as well.
If there is one thing I could tell you right now, it’s this: “Have faith.” I don’t necessarily mean “have religious faith”. I’m not sure what religion you’ve been raised in, if you have been exposed to any at all, or even if you’re concieved yet. But for what it’s worth, I believe having faith is an invaluable skill in this life. It may not come easily to you – depending on what your history has taught you.  Having faith that everything works together towards a purpose (even if we can’t see it right now) and that ‘it’ll be alright’ are more than comforting words is so essential to getting through some of life’s roughest waters. Maybe you’re an older child and you’re afraid right now, grieving the loss of your parents. Maybe you’re a younger child and you don’t understand what’s going on – that can be pretty scary too. Maybe it’s all really confusing because you’re “supposed” to be happy that it’s almost Christmas, but how can you really feel happy when your world is changing so drastically, and you’re not sure where your next Christmas will be, or who it will be with. I can’t even begin to imagine how challenging that is for you. I was too young to remember those times from my adoption, so that may be something we have to feel out, learn, and grow through together. But – I have faith that whatever circumstances are at work, no matter how dark, scary, painful, and confusing they may be now –  that they will bring us together into a forever family.
And that will be good.
So have faith little ones! We’re a family, you just don’t know it yet.
Sending you love always,
Your mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

