Someone Had A Dream About You

Dearest Little Ones,
A friend of mine emailed me the other day, saying she had a dream of me introducing her to a little girl, about 5-7 years old, with dark complexion, dark hair, and beautiful, dark soulful brown eyes. She dreamed it was my daughter.
Many years ago, I had a dream about sitting a child’s bedroom, as moonlight streamed in through the window, a sleeping blond haired little girl sleeping soundly in the room. The bedroom was upstairs in a Victorian style house, and the full moon shone down on a field (presumably our yard) and a thick forest beyond. I was sitting the room, whispering with your dad.
I don’t know if any of these dreams actually have anything to do with what you’ll look like, how old you’ll be, or even if you’ll be a girl! We’re open on all of that right now.IMG_0005
But as I was walking through Disneyland a week ago, I couldn’t help but smile as I wondered what you’ll think of this place. Will you enjoy fireworks? Will you play in the pixie-dusted snow that comes after the fireworks and parade? Will it feel like Christmas if we don’t go to a Disney park one year? Or will you roll your eyes at the princesses and wish you could be prince charming, or a Jedi instead?
I’ve been to Disneyland with kids as young as 6 months and as old as  8 years, but I know seeing it through your eyes will be completely different. Whether you are strapped to my chest in a carrier, pushed in a stroller, or holding my hand as we walk onto Main Street USA for the first time as a family, I know it’ll be a special moment for me. I don’t really remember my first time in the parks. That was over 30 years ago. But I can hope the magic rubs off on you.
After all, we’re family. You just don’t know it yet.

All my love,

IMG_0117

Your mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

