Birthdays, New Years, and Interminable Patience.

Dearest little ones,
It’s a new year and we’re still working towards getting you home. One of the hardest parts of this work isn’t the paperwork or figuring out the financing. It’s the waiting! But in the mean time, we’re working on the manners of our big dog, Odin, and enjoying the time we have together, which currently doesn’t exist. Just like last year, your dad and I watched the calendar turn to the New Year at different places. In fact, in all the years we’ve known each other, your dad and I have yet to spend a New Years together.
Which makes me wonder how special New Years will be when we’re all together? Will it possible replace Christmas Eve as my new favorite holiday? If it means having all my family finally home under one roof, it just might.
That said, my birthday is about a week away! I wonder when your birthday will be. Will it be an awesome day for you, or will you reflect and wonder about your biological family? I’m sure we’ll celebrate you Gotcha’ Day as well, but I hope all of your birthdays are magical. After all, New Years is just when the calendar changes. A birthday is your own personal “new year”. It’s the actual marking of the new year of your life. To me, that’s a much bigger deal than a calendar page. This year, I’ll probably be celebrating my birthday solo. Your dad is out “Finding Nemo” in his submarine, so I’ll take myself out to dinner and movie probably.  I hope you won’t have to celebrate too many birthday’s without us, but we’ll have to see what life has in store for us!
The waiting is the hardest part right now. If there is one skill I could teach you today, it’s patience. But the funny thing about skills like patience is that they only grow when you’re put in a situation where you have to be patient. Right now, most importantly, I’m waiting on you, and I’m waiting for your dad to come home so we can be a family.
After all, we are a family. You just don’t know it yet.

Much love, as always,
Your mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

