The South

Dearest Little ones,
Today I heard that 20 Russian adoptees have died under the care of their American parents. I can’t imagine the heart break of the parents. Once we’re family, I promise to do my best to keep you safe. But that doesn’t mean I never want anything to happen to you. As Dory says in Finding Nemo, “Well, if nothing ever happened to him, than nothing would EVER happen to him.” It’s the scraped knees and tear drops of life that make us who we are. We build character through them and learn some otherwise-unteachable life lessons.

One of the lessons your dad and I are learning right now comes in the form of sore muscles, bruised shins, and great sleep. We’re working with a trainer through the YMCA to build healthier, stronger bodies. Our hope in getting fit together is that we can bring these healthy active habits into our life as a family. Both your dad and I have struggled with our weight and we want to be fit enough to chase you down a beach or down a soccer feild.

We’re hoping you enjoy sports to some degree. Your dad grew up playing football, and I played soccer, softball, volleyball and basketball. Those experiences taught us a lot about team work, getting up when you fall, and being a good sport. But, if you hate them, we’ll find some other ways to share those messages with you.

Part of good health is knowing when to take a step back too. And this week we’re doing just that.

Right now, though, your dad and I are taking a much needed vacation. Still painfully sore from yesterdays work out and long travel day, we’ve been spending today resting up at the military resort in Flordia (Shades of Green). There were wild turkeys roaming the grounds this morning! I marveled at them and know you’d probably think they were pretty cool too. (We don’t see them at home in Washington.) While we can’t wait to experience everything with you, we’re cherishing our time together as a twosome too.

On the flight home, your dad will be finishing his 90 page autobiography needed to bring you home. He’s excited to meet you too.

After all, we’re family. We just don’t know it yet.
All my love,
Your mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
Image | This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

