See You Soon

Dearest Little Ones,
I know I haven’t blogged for a while. Things have been wonderfully hectic around here as we turn the corner from the death of your grandfather, my dad. With the love and support of your dad, I’ve started writing a book about what it was like growing up with your grandfather for a dad. It’s a way for me to remember all the wonderful little things that made our relationship great. I’m hopeful that someone who is questioning whether adoption can build a family as bonded as those built by science and biology might stumble across it and see that it’s entirely possible. After all, that’s how I grew up. Your Dad is proving to be a pretty amazing guy too. He’s been very supportive when I’ve needed him. His been a shoulder to cry on, someone to laugh with, and someone who I know is 100% in the trenches of life with me. No matter the distance or challenges life brings, deaths, financial, military scheduling, etc. I know that he’s invested in our family 100%.
It breeds my eternal hope for a bright future together as a family.
Unfortunately, it’ll probably still be a year or more before we meet. At times, that’s frustrating, but where ever you are, I hope you know that we’re making good use of the time, getting ready for you. We had thought we found a way around the scheduling conflict we keep running into with your classes, but it turns out that we’ll have to get those classes under our belts in order to get an approved homestudy for ANY adoption route. So we’re back at square one with that. I’ll continue to do research while your dad is out Finding Nemo on his Submarine, and hopefully we’ll be able to work some in during his leave period this December. It’s a long time to wait, but I’m sure it’ll fly by in the blink of an eye. It gives me time to focus on healing in my family before we add you to it.
You’ll have your own bit of healing to do, no doubt, but that’s all part of us growing together as a family. I’ll be better equip to help you after this experience. They say everything happens for a reason and in its own perfect time. We just don’t always know what the reason is.
But I do know that we’re family, you just don’t know it yet.
Love always – Your Mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

