Bumps, Bruises, and Scraped up Knees

Bumps, Bruises, and Scraped up Knees

Dearest little ones –
There is a misconception in the world that adults don’t fall down. That only kids show up with scraped up knees and banged up shins.
Well, I’m here to tell you, you won’t be living in that kind of household. Your father comes home with bruises shaped like valves just about every day from work, and I think my knees and shins are permantly a slight shade of blue and purple from work outs in the gym.
And ya know what? It’s okay. Around here we celebrate our bruises and scrapes, because they show that we’ve probably learned something (even if it’s just to be more careful in the future).

We may bruise. We may bleed. But we don’t break.

We pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, learn the lesson, and try again.
This particular bruise came form learning to do lunges deep enough to touch my knee to the ground. It’s been months since this one, but I’ve earned a few new ones. The inside of my knees were pretty bruised up when I overcame my fear and tackled a new height in box jumps. My thighs have a few bruises from learning how to do heavy Power Cleans. (Yeah, your mom likes to lift weights.)

The truth is, it helps me manage stress. There are so many things in life we just can’t control – and right now, a big part of that is what we call “family planning”. Your father’s schedule won’t lighten up for us to be able to classes necessary to get you until this fall at the earliest… so we’ve been at this adoption thing for over 2 years by the time we even get to really start on the homestudy process… sometimes, it feels like forever… it’s almost enough to make me wonder if you’re even really out there – the kiddoes ment to be part of our family. Maybe we’re just ment to be a family of 2 and have big dogs forever? While I know I could live with that, I know I’d regret never getting to know you…

But time will tell, and that’s just one thing that’s beyond my control.

For now, for today, I choose to hope our pathes will cross soon. Afterall, we’re family, you just don’t it yet.

Love, Your Mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
Image | This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

