The Brick Walls

Dear kids,
  Sometimes it feels like you’re one day closer. Other times it feels like maybe I’m not ment to adopt at all. It’s so easy to get discouraged, since we’re entering year two of this journey and it seems like something new comes up everyday that bars the path to bringing you home. Time lines don’t line up. Different things pop up here and there. Right now, we’re still trying to get the contractor to do some small jobs for us (he’s trying to figure out how to get us funding so you can each have your own room), and we need a form from your Dad’s home state that has a good chance of not getting here in time for his deployment…and if that doesn’t happen, meeting you may be yet another year away…

But when I feel like, “Maybe this is a sign?” I keep remembering something from one of my favorite books. “Brick walls are there to keep people out. They are there to keep OTHER people out.The people who don’t want it badly enough.”

So maybe these ‘brick walls’ aren’t ment to impede my progress to you. Maybe they are here to make me prove how much you’re wanted here.

Who knows, but I cling to the faith that we’re family; you just don’t know it yet.
Love always,
Your Mom

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Brick Walls

Leave a Reply

