I’m Sorry, We’re Nerdy.

us

Dear Future Kids,
I’m sorry. Your future parents are a kind of nerds.
In fact, my latest souvenier from our recent trip to Disneyland (hopefully the last trip without you) is a back pack that matches my I love Nerds wallet. It has Disney characters with glasses on it looking styling. It also says things like “Nerds Rock” and “I love science”. It’s pretty true in our case.
We’re nerds.
I’ve been a Disney nerd since I was 2 years old. That gives me just about 32 years of Disney nerdom under my belt. Your dad has been a Disney fan for most of his life, but he hit nerd status when we started going to Disneyland and Disney World whenever we got a vacation, so he’s officially a Disney nerd too.
Disney isn’t all about princesses and pirates though. They have some pretty cool stuff.

"Can't Wait to Race With You, Champ!"

“Can’t Wait to Race With You, Champ!”

Your dad is also a big Star Wars. He can also tell you the back story of just about any super hero, and he’s getting into photography in a big way. He plays video games as time allows. When he’s not playing, he’s usually up to date on the lastest gaming news (though don’t get any ideas – Grand Theft Auto games will not be showing up on your screens any time soon in our house).

We’re finally to the point were we’re waiting on paperwork now. We’re waiting on getting our finger prints checked out so they can be sure we’re safe for you and don’t have any criminal history. With a little luck, we’ll meet this summer!

Right now, we’re dreaming about our first ‘Gotcha Day’ anniversary vacation. Disneyland and a road trip? Disney World? A Disney Cruise? Maybe an international Disney vacation? We’ve been dying to go to Japan!

We can’t wait to see your first passport picture.
Afterall, we’re family, you just don’t know it yet.
Much love,
Your Mom
 

About justdontknowityet

Adopted during my first year of life into a family that had a already adopted a boy. My bio mother was 15 and swore she was raped. With almost no pre-natal care, I survived and joined my forever-family. Blood may be thicker than water - but love is stronger than both. Now, my husband and I are in the process of building our own family through adoption. Our process is complicated somewhat by his service as a Navy Submariner. Sometimes the best things come from the most surprising and challenging situations. The goal of his blog is to honestly express the challenges, pit falls, heart breaks and joys of this process in letters to our future family. Every child is wanted by someone.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

